Crime in Mexico: Los Zetas and Sinaloa Cartels

CIA. “Mexico.” World Factbook. February 18, 2014. https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/geos/mx.html

Clements, Samuel. “Los Zetas Drug Cartel Has Their Own Radio Network.” Vice. January 2, 2013. http://www.vice.com/read/the-los-zetas-drug-cartel-have-their-own-radio-network

Cox, Joseph. “The Zetas’ Leader Has Been Captured, but Is That Really Such a Good Thing?” Vice. July 19, 2013. http://www.vice.com/read/is-the-los-zetas-leaders-capture-really-such-a-good-thing

Deibert, Michael. “Cartel Wars.” TruthDig. May 16, 2011. http://www.truthdig.com/report/item/mexicos_cartel_wars_20110516

The Economist. “Crime in Mexico: Out of Sight, not Out of Mind.” October 19, 2013. http://www.economist.com/news/americas/21588071-having-decided-play-down-fight-against-drug-kingpins-enrique-pe-nieto-has-yet-come

FBI. Federal Jury in San Antonio Convicts Los Zetas Associate in Drug Distribution and Kidnapping Scheme.” San Antonio Division. February 21, 2014. http://www.fbi.gov/sanantonio/press-releases/2014/federal-jury-in-san-antonio-convicts-los-zetas-associate-in-drug-distribution-and-kidnapping-scheme

Fantz, Ashley. “The Mexico Drug War: Bodies for Billions.” CNN. January 20, 2012. http://www.cnn.com/2012/01/15/world/mexico-drug-war-essay/

Fausset, Michael and Cecilia Sanchez. “Crime still a widespread concern in Mexican Cities, poll finds.” Los Angeles Times. Janaury 9, 2014. http://articles.latimes.com/2014/jan/09/world/la-fg-wn-mexico-crime-poll-20140109

Finnegan, William. “The Kingpins: The Fight for Guadalajara.”  The New Yorker. July 2, 2012. http://www.newyorker.com/reporting/2012/07/02/120702fa_fact_finnegan

Georgetown University. “Mexico: Our Embattled Neighbor.” Dean Peter Krogh Foreign Affairs Digital Archive. 1996. https://repository.library.georgetown.edu/handle/10822/552619

Global Post. “How the Sinaloa cartel won Mexico’s drug war.” February 18, 2013. http://www.globalpost.com/dispatch/news/regions/americas/mexico/130227/sinaloa-cartel-mexico-drug-war-US-global-economy-conflict-zones

Grillo, Ioan. “El Narco: Inside Mexico’s Criminal Insurgency.” http://ioangrillo.com/index.php

InSightCrime: Organized Crime in the Americas. “Zetas News.” http://www.insightcrime.org/groups-mexico/zetas

Library of Congress. “Mexico.” http://lcweb2.loc.gov/frd/cs/mxtoc.html

Meza, Erik. “Fighting Crime in Mexico City.” Time. http://content.time.com/time/photogallery/0,29307,1811983,00.html

National Geographic. “Mexico Guide.” http://travel.nationalgeographic.com/travel/countries/mexico-guide/

Nation Master. “Mexico.” http://www.nationmaster.com/country-info/profiles/Mexico

The New York Times.”Mexican Drug Trafficking.” http://topics.nytimes.com/top/news/international/countriesandterritories/mexico/drug_trafficking/

——. “Zetas.” http://query.nytimes.com/search/sitesearch/#/Zetas/

Rayman, Noah. “Mexico’s Feared Narcos: A Brief History of the Zetas Drug Cartel.” Time. July 16, 2013. http://world.time.com/2013/07/16/mexicos-feared-narcos-a-brief-history-of-the-zetas-drug-cartel/

Shadbolt, Peter. “Philippines raid reveals Mexican drug cartel presence in Asia.” CNN. February 25, 2014. http://www.cnn.com/2014/02/24/world/asia/philippines-mexico-sinaloa-cartel/

Shell, Elizabeth. “’Sadist’ Los Zetas Cartel Set Brutal Standard in Drug War.” PBS Newshour. July 16, 2013. http://www.pbs.org/newshour/rundown/sadist-los-zetas-cartel-set-brutal-standard-in-drug-war/

Tuckman, Don. “Mexico Arrests Zetas Cartel Leader.” The Guardian. July 15, 2013. http://www.theguardian.com/world/2013/jul/16/mexico-arrests-zetas-cartel-leader

U.S. Department of State. “U.S. Relations with Mexico.” September 5, 2013. http://www.state.gov/r/pa/ei/bgn/35749.htm

U.S. Department of the Treasury. “Treasury Expands Sanctions against the Los Zetas Drug Cartel.” Press Center. February 14, 2014. http://www.treasury.gov/press-center/press-releases/Pages/jl2254.aspx

Vice. “The Mexican Mormon War.” Youtube. September 26, 2012. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LpIyaIHsJbc

The Washington Times. “Ex-troops aiding drug traffickers.” February 24, 2005. http://www.washingtontimes.com/news/2005/feb/24/20050224-123713-6092r/

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s